CMMC Certification Process and Timeline

The length of the CMMC Certification process depends on what level of certification you are aiming to achieve. Each level has a different certification and assessment process which increases in time and resource cost the higher they are. Check this page to learn more about each of the three levels.

In a nutshell:

  • Level 1: Requires a self assessment
  • Level 2: Requires assessment by a CMMC Third Party Assessment Organization (C3PAO)
  • Level 3: Requires assessment by government officials

Phases of the CMMC Certification Process

And what happens at each one

  • CMMC Gap Analysis
    This phase determines what is missing from your cybersecurity posture and infrastructure that is preventing you from achieving compliance
  • CMMC Implementation
    Next, efforts are made to remediate issues found in phase 1, which may include problems with software and hardware solutions, policies, or practices
  • CMMC Pre-Assessment
    The next phase verifies the efficacy of the fixes implemented in phase 2, and prepares the organization for the final assessment
  • CMMC Assessment
    The final phase is the official assessment which determines if the organization is capable of achieving CMMC

How long will the certification process take?

The time needed to achieve certified compliance will vary widely depending on several factors. It could take anywhere from around three months to a year or more. Some of the primary factors determining the length of the certification process are:

The CMMC Level you are seeking to achieve

Level 1 is a relatively simple certification process, while Levels 2 and 3 require more strenuous assessments by outside parties.

Your existing cybersecurity infrastructure and posture

If your overall security is high, there will likely be fewer issues found in phase 1, meaning fewer solutions to implement in phase 2 and a shorter process. Conversely if many issues are found, more time will be needed to implement remediations.

The number of locations you operate

If your organization operates multiple locations (offices, server farms, etc.), this will increase the complexity of the certification process and thus the time required.

The aptitude and availability of your C3PAO

For Compliance Level 2, you will be required to undergo an assessment from a C3PAO, which is accredited by the government to perform the certification process. These organizations are private companies, so not all will operate at the same speed.

Kloud9 is a recognized consultant that can help companies gain CMMC accreditation

The CMMC-AB (Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification Accreditation Body) has created the Title “CMMC-AB Registered Provider Organization™” to indicate which organizations are broadly acquainted with CMMC standards and training guidelines.

Kloud9 has been acknowledged as an RPO (Registered Provider Organization).
This means that

CMMC consulting from Kloud9 will prepare your organization to quickly and effectively work through this certification process.

Learn More

Email is the primary avenue of attack for most cybercriminals, who use it to target individuals and businesses with phishing scams, ransomware attacks, and other cyberthreats. Learn how email security maintains the integrity of your emails, accounts, and data.Get a FREE copy now!

a 12 Minute Call